Fresh Pineapple Cookies

2016-03-29_0001

I know, you can roll your eyes at me.  Two posts in one day!  What can I say, I’m on a roll!

Had to post this today since the sale on baby pineapples ends tomorrow and wanted to give you all a chance to snatch some up if you live near Sprouts.  Baby Pineapples are on sale for $.98!!  Such a bargain and you can do so many things with fresh pineapple!

I have been wanting to try this for a long time but just kept forgetting and when I was at Sprouts yesterday, I saw the sale and decided I would give it a go.  Wanted to share a recipe for Fresh Pineapple Cookies!  The only trick to these cookies is that it must be sweet, yummy pineapple that you use to get the best flavor.

Fresh Pineapple Cookies

Yields approximately 30 cookies

For this recipe, you will need 1 ripe Fresh Baby Pineapple or a regular pineapple will work just fine.  All “baby” means is that they are smaller than normal.  Remove outer layer of pineapple, core and coarsely puree fruit in food processor or blender, reserving any liquid.

For Cookies:

1 ½ sticks Butter

¾ cup Sugar

3 Egg Yolks from X-Large Eggs

1 tsp. Almond Extract 

2 Tbsp. Freshly Pureed Ripe Pineapple*

2 ½ cups Flour

½ tsp. Kosher Salt

½ tsp. Fresh Pineapple Mint, finely chopped (optional)

 *Fresh Pineapple works best as canned pineapple will not have the same taste.  Please taste test the pineapple beforehand to make sure that it is sweet as can be and super yummy as it will make the cookies that much better to use ripe pineapple!

For Glaze:

2 cups Powdered Sugar 

¼ cup Freshly Pureed Pineapple

2 -4 Tbsp. Liquid from pureed pineapple

Sprinkle with freshly chopped Pineapple Mint (optional)

Directions:

In the bowl of an electric stand mixer, beat the butter and sugar until light yellow and smooth.  Add in the yolks, extract, pureed pineapple and mix until well combined.  Add in flour, salt and mint (optional) and mix just until flour is incorporated, dough will look slightly crumbly and will pull away from the sides of the bowl.  Dump out dough onto a large piece of plastic wrap.  Fold plastic wrap around dough and press with your hands until the dough comes together.  Unfold plastic wrap and add another piece of plastic wrap to top of dough and roll out using a rolling pin until dough is about a ½” thick.  Transfer sheet of dough to baking sheet and refrigerate for about 30 minutes. 

Preheat oven to 350°.  Remove firm dough from refrigerator and place down on counter, removing top layer of plastic wrap.  Using any cookie cutter approx. 2” in size, carefully cut out cookies.  Carefully lift up cut-outs and place onto parchment lined baking sheets approximately 1-1/2” apart.  Repeat process with all remaining dough and scraps.  Bake cookies for approximately 10-12 minutes or until just barely browned.  Remove from oven and let cool on pan for about 5 minutes and then using a spatula, transfer cookies to a baking rack to cool completely.

Once cookies are cool, in a separate bowl, combine powdered sugar, pureed fresh pineapple along with approximately 2 Tbsp. of liquid from pureed pineapple.   Whisk until slightly thickened but still loose enough to pour.  You may need to add in an additional 2 Tbsp. of pineapple juice to loosen up glaze.  Take each cookie and dip top into the icing and place onto the baking rack to set.  Immediately after dipping each cookie into icing, you have the option of sprinkling on freshly chopped pineapple mint.  I love herbs so it is a fun twist to add a little bit of pineapple mint and gives the cookies an especially unique flavor!  Hope you enjoy!

I have made several batches of these today so if you have any questions, do not hesitate to reach out.  You can always email me here or comment below.

Thanks,

Elayne

www.sharingourlifeloveandfood.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Fresh Pineapple Cookies

  1. Super easy to make. Just finished making them & I really like them…I had to try 3 just to make sure. 😬 Thanks for sharing.

  2. I love that you’ve posted 2 recipes in one day! I really want to try them both. I think I’ll do the pineapple cookies tomorrow. Sounds so yummy…can’t wait. I’ll let you know how it goes. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Those sound (and look) so tasty. What a unique and fresh cookie for Spring! Thanks for sharing!

    What is “pineapple” mint? I have mojito mint growing like a weed in my window sill. Guess I need to make some mojitos…lol! I bet if you used limes (and mint) with this recipe you’d get mojito cookies (sorry, I’m straying)!!

    I should have picked up a baby pineapple at Sprouts when I was there earlier. Maybe tomorrow 😄.

    • I know, kind of odd to hear pineapple mint. You can find it at Sprouts. I have it in my herb garden too so feel free to come and try it this summer. So funny that you said that about the mojiti mint. I have a whole line up with these cookies using every fruit and herb combo. under the sun: Lime, Blueberry, Raspberry, Lemon, the list goes on!

Leave a comment